Skip Menu |
 

This queue is for tickets about the TimeDate CPAN distribution.

Report information
The Basics
Id: 17173
Status: resolved
Priority: 0/
Queue: TimeDate

People
Owner: Nobody in particular
Requestors: jlfaber [...] aol.com
Cc:
AdminCc:

Bug Information
Severity: Normal
Broken in: 1.16
Fixed in: (no value)



Subject: time2str gets timezone wrong for times in "fall back" hour
Download (untitled) / with headers
text/plain 1.8k
perl 5.8.0 Red Hat Enterprise Linux AS release 3 (Taroon Update 3) Running in the US Eastern timezone (in mid january 2006) For datetimes within the one hour ambiguity zone (between 1am EDT and 1am EST on the last Sunday in October), the timezone displayed by the %Z option is "MNT" instead of "EST". Before and after this period it is correct ("EDT" and "EST" respectively). There is no such problem with the "spring forward" time. Sample code: ------------------------- #!/usr/bin/perl -w use strict; use Date::Parse; use Date::Format; my @test_input = ( "04/03/05 5:00 GMT", "04/03/05 6:00 GMT", "04/03/05 6:59 GMT", "04/03/05 7:00 GMT", "04/03/05 7:01 GMT", "04/03/05 7:59 GMT", "04/03/05 8:00 GMT", "04/03/05 8:01 GMT", "10/30/05 4:00 GMT", "10/30/05 5:00 GMT", "10/30/05 5:59 GMT", "10/30/05 6:00 GMT", "10/30/05 6:01 GMT", "10/30/05 6:59 GMT", "10/30/05 7:00 GMT", "10/30/05 7:01 GMT", ); for my $datein (@test_input) { my $tm = str2time($datein); my $tmstr = time2str("%c %Z", $tm); print "$datein\t$tmstr\n"; } --------------------- output --------------------- 04/03/05 5:00 GMT 04/03/05 00:00:00 EST 04/03/05 6:00 GMT 04/03/05 01:00:00 EST 04/03/05 6:59 GMT 04/03/05 01:59:00 EST 04/03/05 7:00 GMT 04/03/05 03:00:00 EDT 04/03/05 7:01 GMT 04/03/05 03:01:00 EDT 04/03/05 7:59 GMT 04/03/05 03:59:00 EDT 04/03/05 8:00 GMT 04/03/05 04:00:00 EDT 04/03/05 8:01 GMT 04/03/05 04:01:00 EDT 10/30/05 4:00 GMT 10/30/05 00:00:00 EDT 10/30/05 5:00 GMT 10/30/05 01:00:00 EDT 10/30/05 5:59 GMT 10/30/05 01:59:00 EDT 10/30/05 6:00 GMT 10/30/05 01:00:00 MNT 10/30/05 6:01 GMT 10/30/05 01:01:00 MNT 10/30/05 6:59 GMT 10/30/05 01:59:00 MNT 10/30/05 7:00 GMT 10/30/05 02:00:00 EST 10/30/05 7:01 GMT 10/30/05 02:01:00 EST


This service is sponsored and maintained by Best Practical Solutions and runs on Perl.org infrastructure.

Please report any issues with rt.cpan.org to rt-cpan-admin@bestpractical.com.